Article III. Membership

Section I.

The state agencies participating in the AVL Council are: the Alabama Commission on Higher Education, the Alabama Community College System, the Alabama Public Library Service, the Alabama State Department of Education, and the Alabama Supercomputer Authority.

Section II.

The director of each participating state agency shall appoint three Council members to serve as representatives and advocates for the AVL. Each appointment is made for a three-year term. Initial appointments to the Council may have varying lengths of service to allow staggered rotation and terms of service. Members whose term has expired will serve until a new appointment is made by the participating agency.

Section III.

The membership year shall correspond with the fiscal year, beginning October 1st and ending on September 30th of the subsequent year.